La Vie en Rose (English)

“Hold me close and hold me fast, the magic spell you cast, this is la vie en rose; When you kiss me heaven sighs. and tho I close my eyes, I see la vie en rose”- Louis Armstrong

I recently bought this picture called “The Kiss” by Gustav Klimt. I remember the first time I saw this painting in high school. I stared at it for hours, wanting to feel that type of passion. I love the way the man hold his lovers face; her look of awe and esteem; the way her toes curl over in pure delight by her lover’s embrace.

It’s been forever since I’ve felt that kind of charismatic embrace. That epic feeling when your beloved’s lips are but a breath away from yours. To have my fingers nimbly caress the nape as the kiss becomes more intimate; the strength of his hold increases; the weakness of my wrists from the pleasure.

I love the bright gold that Klimt uses… as if their very presence together emits a glow evident and tangible to others. I love the way love looks in this picture. the grass is greener; the flowers bloom brightly; the essence of the sky inconsequential… the axiomatic truth is their devotion visible by the melding of their two bodies. One neither ends nor begins, they just exist.

It reminds me of the line from “A Midsummer’s Night Dream”: When Lysander is trying to convince Hermia of his love.

O, take the sense, sweet, of my innocence!
Love takes the meaning in love’s conference.
I mean, that my heart unto yours is knit
So that but one heart we can make of it;
Two bosoms interchained with an oath;
So then two bosoms and a single troth.
 
I’m sure Klimt was thinking of this when he painted Dur Kuss or maybe Shakespeare was inspired by Kilmt.
 
Either way, the painting hangs above my bed until I’m the reflection of my sweet love’s affection.
 

Gustav Klimt

Leave a Reply

