Redemption Song

“But my hand was made strong, By the ‘and of the Almighty. We forward in this generation, Triumphantly. Won’t you help to sing, This songs of freedom, ‘Cause all I ever have: Redemption songs; Redemption songs.” Bob Marley

I recently heard that a good friend of mine is deploying with her platoon to Iraq. She’s a solider, this is to be expected. But I can’t imagine not having her “home” for two years.

Bob believed that you could cure racism and hate literally through music and love… the people who are trying to make this world worse are not taking a day off… how can I? Light up the darkness. I am Legend

I can understand LA’s passion for her country. I can understand the need to protect and serve. At the same her life is a living testimony and you can sincerely see God working through her. Even as God takes her to a new land, an area of danger, and a time of self-reliance… God’s glory is there.

I want to be selfish out of my own mortal fear for her. My own cousin has served two tours (if I’m not mistaken) without incident. Even though we’re related, he’s a stranger to me. This girl was my ace in Russia… we were roomies, museum mates, and food critics together. It’s ridiculous because we’ve lived in the same state for two years and haven’t seen each other, but the thought that I won’t be able to pick up the phone and harass her with my not-so-funny stories, its startling.

She’s incredibly brave. My prayers are with her and her husband (also deploying). I can’t wait to visit them mid-August in Tennessee. I pray that wherever LA goes she’ll be able to light up the dark with her spirit and that of the Holy Ghost.

She’s a blessing.

I’m glad she is my friend.

For all of our soldiers serving, I salute you and sing songs of freedom until your return. May love bring you home.

Leave a Reply

