Blackbird

“Blackbird singing in the dead of night. Take these broken wings and learn to fly. All your life, you were only waiting for this moment to arise. Blackbird singing in the dead of night. Take these sunken eyes and learn to see. All your life you were only waiting for this moment to be free. Blackbird fly, Blackbird fly, into the light of a dark black night.” The Beatles

Honestly, I love the Beatles… I think they are reportedly one of the best bands ever to exist. As much as I enjoy their popular songs, I’m more inspired by their less popular albums/songs… As controversial as it all seems, Harrison was my favorite Beatle; writing great hits such as “Something” and “My Guitar Gently Weeps”. Mostly, I liked the White Album and Abby Road. They are two of my favorite even though they chronicle the dispersion of the Beatles as a band.

“I look at the world and I notice it’s turning, While my guitar gently weeps, With every mistake we must surely be learning, Still my guitar gently weeps”

I’m a little sidetracked as The Beatles weren’t the message to be outlined in this blogpost. Back to the beginning…

“[Blackbird] you were only waiting for this moment to arise” I’m sensitive to things outside of my sphere. My mother calls me an Empath.  I’m very intuitive and hypersensitive to emotions and conditions of other people. I used to translate this as ‘the need to help others’. I often take on other people’s problems, or know when something is wrong even without being near. People see me as a great listener or someone to open up to, even if we’re strangers to one another.

I’m constantly bombarded by emotions that do not originate internally and usually I can’t address the core issues behind what I’m feeling.

At the same time I struggle with the weight of my own burdens. I acknowledge that I have a sinful nature. I’m often pulled in multiple directions by temptation. And then I feel so guilty, overwhelmed by guilt because I feel like I’m betraying God.

Then I hear this awesome sermon by Mike Kelsey at Frontline. I mean it was tremendous. It was about opening your eyes to the new life God has given you through the sacrifice of his Son; which focuses on Romans 8.

I keep thinking about each day new mercies are granted. Life begins anew with every sunrise. Nothing can separate us from God, once He dwells in you.

It’s all a growing process… I just need to wake up and arise.

I think I look like my Momma in this picture

P.S. I look like my mom here.

Leave a Reply

