Sea of Love

“Come with me, my love, to the sea, the sea of love. I want to tell you how much I love you. Do you remember when we met? That’s the day I knew you were my friend. I want to tell you how much I love you. Come with me my love, to the sea, the sea of love. I want to tell you, how much I love you.” Cat Powers

Like a glutton for punishment, I’ve been watching “Say Yes to the Dress” on TLC at home, alone, with my cat in my lap… pathetic. Then I watched the Say Yes:Big Bliss. Maybe it was this one episode, but everyone of the brides to be said they met their husband online. Then there’s the guy from my softball who met his girlfriend on Match. It seems like everywhere I turn someone is online dating and finding their mate.

Granted I do not want a mate. I just want to go out! I want someone to tell me I’m pretty. And like the moon holds out until the last second before fading by the sun’s brilliance, I want to feel desired.

So I joined match… Well I’m about to suspend my free subscription before I even start. Some weirdo emails me and tells me I’m pretty. Sir, you are 40 years old! 40 YEARS OLD! what in the name of all thigns holy do you want with a 22 year old? That’s adult pedophilia… GROSS.

I’m done.

Match, do you hear me? I’m officially rescinding my invitation to  intrude on my love-life. So help me, I will be content in my singleness. I rebuke you coalescence!

But before I came to this conclusion, I read this really great comic. *sigh* get thee behind me tempest? ((half-heartedly))

Leave a Reply

