How Come You Don’t Call Me Anymore?

Why on earth can’t you just pick-up the phone, You know I don’t like to be alone! How come you don’t call me? (Why he wanna torture me?) Call me! Alicia Keys

 
Foreword: This is the story of a not-so-typical girl’s experience with an oh-so-typical male.
 
So after being blown off on Sunday, I can’t lie and say that my electrons were neutrally charged. I expected something: an apology, a follow-up text, a phone call rescheduling… something. Well during the week of silence, I went through an array of emotions.
 
Sunday 4pm (from him): “You should enjoy your day, this is going to take a while”.
(my response): “OK… guess I’ll head home. Catch you on the flip side”
 
In my head, I’m fuming! I didn’t really feel like meeting up, especially after being on the metro all day… but I felt horrible, that I made alternate plans when I originally made plans with him. It was like I went back on my word, which irritates my spirit. Makes me feel like I’m a liar… hate that feeling. So according to TBoom’s rules, we started day 1 of the 72 hour rule.
 
Day 1: I should say day 1 started on Sunday. I repeatedly looked at my phone. Checked my email, looked at my phone. Checked the ringer volume, checked my text messages. *puzzled face* the phone didn’t ring, the text message bell didn’t ding… disappointing.
 
Day 2: Day 2 was much better. I only looked at my phone once an hour, maybe… maybe less. Considering that I was at work, I was pretty distracted. But I did start crying in my office. I mean how could he not want to talk to me? How could he not apologize? How could he not feel the strong desire to reach out to me? Yea I tweeted a lot that day. Everything I couldn’t say to him I said to the mass public.
 
Day 3: I was so hopeful this day. I was sure that this man wouldn’t let 3 days pass without casually including me in the conversations of his mind… right? WRONG. Ignored, upset, discouraged. How could I like someone who doesn’t like me back… freaking again! Why do I always misread the signals? I never take things at face value, I always perceive the possibility… bank my hopes on the future outcome instead of accepting the present situation.
 
Day 3.5: I actually start to get worried. Well after a conversation with my cousin, we debate whether or not he was hit by a car; lost three fingers in a metro accident; was robbed during a late stroll home. So of course I check the crime/obituary section in the Post. But wait, ol’dude’s from SC so that doesn’t really work, right? But then I do hear on myFoxDC that this dude was mugged while walking home… I was so sure. So then I prayed.
 
Day 4: Much better, absolutely worse. I start the day with the feeling that he’s a jerk, all men are jerks. My daddy said “He must not realize how beautiful you are”… thank DADDY! *tear* still doesn’t dull the gnawing ache in my chest that I’ve been rejected. But there are more fish, right? THEN I realize that I missed a text message from A that’s about 2 mos old. So I start thinking about all the possible text messages that I could have missed in 4 days. Logical recourse? Call AT&T, duh! So I call them to talk about my reception, or lack thereof. I discuss the possible calls/texts that I could have missed (if someone called or text me in reality). As patient as the customer service rep was, I think a good strangling was in order (her to me).
 
Day 5: Thursday I’m pretty neutral, blood is boiling slightly. To text or not to text, that is the question: so I talk to F. She gives me crucial advice. To the point that I starred & saved her chat message in Gmail. Be casual, show that this doesn’t affect you, be nonchalant.
 
Day 6: With the newfound conviction of a blase attitude, I was ready to make it through the day. It’s Friday, why not be happy? I mean you already posted WAY too much information on FB hoping to spark interest, why not take the added step of enjoying the fruits of your labor? Compartmentalize yourself… you are homegirl, stay in your lane.
 
Day 7: I decided to wait until day 9 to text, but I was in the shower and something said: Why Not? Why are you waiting? Just do it? It’s not that crucial… do it, homegirl! So I did… really ice-cube: Hey Cee-Lo, this week was crazy (because I was trying not to come to your house and stalk you on FB)*, but how was apt hunting?
*Definitely did NOT say this… just FYI.
 
Of course, he texts me back immediately. I mean who wouldn’t respond to such an amazing text like that? I mean initiate much? Whatever, its been a whole day of back & forth, but I’m neutral. Designated to my spot in the situation, I’ve grown accustomed to the nostril-flare that accompanies a heightened sense of awareness. I am homegirl, I have a lane. Please Lord, help me to stay there!
Leave a Reply

