Adoration (So Amazing)

“I could sing of your praises all day long, I could sing of your praises all day long, all day long. Because you are so amazing to me, I lift my hands in adoration to you. You are so amazing to me, I lift my voice in adoration to you. I could sing of your mercies all day long, all day long. I could sing of your mercies all day long, all day long. Because you are so amazing to me, I lift my hands in adoration to you. You are so amazing to me, I lift my voice in adoration to you.” Forever Jones

On the Daily Grind:

When things end and you have to pick up the pieces, you sit and reflect… not in an angry, why-did-this-happen kind of way; but I’m disappointed in myself.

I recently said that I’m going to pretend the last month didn’t happen. Does that weary in well doing ever translate into relishing in doing wrong [Gal 6:9]?

You know how they say be watchful of false prophets [Matthew 17:15-24]? It’s not so much that they come in with their guile tongue and deceive you… it’s more that you allow their logic to come in and persuade your already willing mind.  “Temptation comes from our own desires, which entice us and drag us away” [James 1:14].

If you’re loyalty is divided between God and the world, you are unstable in everything you do [James 1:8]. When you go against all the plans God laid out for you, the shame that floods in can be overwhelming. You feel broken. You feel incomplete. You feel foreign in a familiar place.

And lastly you’re left humbled; so humbled that the Grace of God is still in your life though you have failed the testing of your faith. His promise to love you remains, and because of that promise you are able to shake the shadows surrounding you.

And in your asking for forgiveness, for guidance, for strength, for wisdom… sometimes you ignore the answering call. You see yourself in the mirror, but upon walking away, you forget what you look like [James 1:23]. It’s hard to realize that my face never changes; it’s the perception of the reflection that causes confusion.

That desire to wake up and be whole again… the overarching response to a momentary corruption. And not knowing where to turn.

I Praise God for his ability to make me forget. After I do something bad, the pressure that weighs crushingly on an enslaved prisoner. I just want to be complete, valuable, desired.

But I placed my gift in a hole… the infertile tundra where the leaves whip at my seeds, the roots soaking up the fertile soil, my seeds unable to burrow. We are given gifts in accordance with our abilities, given ideas bigger than our current opportunities; but it’s up to us to walk by faith. You have to be diligent in listening for the right moment.

I really have to stop being so anxious for tomorrow, that I forget about the possibility of today.

Readers: What dreams do you give to God daily/weekly/monthly? What desires of your heart will you give to God so that he can move in your life? Do you know your TRUE desire?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. erikathequeen
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 14:40:30

    Your post really pushed me to reflect on my own relationship with God. I think that when you open your heart to God, he is able to change your desires or enhance them to fulfill his will for your life. He is just so awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

