Never Wave My Flag

Seems like I should run away, ‘Cause life is hitting me in the face, My face, my face, But I’m so focused and I’m so driven, I gotta make the best out of this life I’m living, Can’t be a winner if I surrender, I won’t surrender, I can’t surrender. I’ll never wave my flag, never wave my, I’ll never wave my flag, never wave my, I’ll never wave my flag, never wave my, I’ll never wave my flag, never wave my, Oh… I’ll keep holding on, Oh… I’ll keep holding– Mary Mary

I’m reading The Shack and I have to admit it’s slow goings. Yesterday (9/9) I got to the point in the book that directly correlates to my relationship with God. I realize why it’s so hard to have a fully trusting relationship with Him. The faith required to fully commit to omnipotence so unknown; an understanding that life is completely out of your control; that all things work out in the end when you can’t see an end in sight. The acknowledgement that you may never know the “why” behind why certain things happen, and yet you still should honor Him and remain true to Him.

There are no stipulations to this relationship— like you can’t win favor by how good you are or how perfect you act. There are no brownie points to prevent bad things from happening. Because as a witness your life is a testimony, which in essence demands tests, and through all of this you will be a witness that leads others to Christ by your unshakeable faith. Joel Osteen talked about this Unshakeable Faith, the promise in your heart that God puts there to know that circumstances don’t matter because your confidence is in God. And he is bigger than any obstacle.

I have tree faith, firmly planted, deeply rooted. But sometimes my branches sway, my leaves quiver and fall, disturbed by the elements. The environment plays a factor in my faith. Have I received enough sunlight? Did I drink enough water? Is my soil well tended? Did someone breathe the CO2 into my bark to nourish my soul?

Yet I still stand—some days stronger, more beautiful than others. Weeds pilfer my nutrients. Clouds overcast blocking the sun. Droughts shrivel the foliage. People walk by me holding their breath. Yet still I stand.

Just like in the book, I’ve reached my tipping point. Words carved by careless teenagers etched on brown husk. Storms removing limbs, lightening having split a solid surface into fragments. Outside tending needed to seam the scattered pieces. A reconnection, root burrowed submerged in the ground, searching: a mineral to bring back life to renew a withered exterior.

As long as there is an ardent root, the tree will stand unmoved.

And I keep reading past chapter 6…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Diayle Davis
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 09:41:58

    That was amazingly written! And exactly how I feel! I’m reading the book now too, we’ll have to talk about it soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

