Don’t Stop Believing

“Some will win, some will lose, Some were born to sing the blues, Oh, the movie never ends, It goes on and on and on and on, Strangers waiting, Up and down the boulevard, Their shadows searching in the night, Streetlight people, Living just to find emotion, Hiding somewhere in the night, Don’t stop believin’,
Hold on to that feelin’ “—Journey *pre-dated post 10/8/12*

The semi-finalist list for the annual Black Weblog Awards came out, and sure’nuff my name (blog) was not on it. I could say that I feel some type of way about that *mouf pop* but I honestly don’t know how I feel. Do you ever want something and not know why you want it? That ache on the back of your tongue for something sweet even though your stomach signals it’s full: There’s my response.

I feel like I won’t get the type of recognition I want until I understand why the accolades are important. Do I need other people to validate that I’m a good writer? Why do I write? Though I want to tell my story, I really want to make a connection; dot to dot to dot I want to build three sides and let my readers close the box writing their initials on the inside.

It may be a tale of woes, but we all share the same challenges. Maybe it’s the communal space of acceptance that allows for success.

What I won’t say is that it doesn’t suck—because it does. Losing in any form sucks whether it’s significant or not. But the words won’t stop, the music still speaks to me, the thoughts still need release.

As I take down the widget from a wright-hand panel, erasing html code without replacement, I think of dreams deferred to another year. Another 12 months of head-down grinding, brief squints up from the pad to focus on other opportunities. A Thomas the Tank approach to writing: thinking you can, chugging uphill though you want to slide down, thankful for every clink forward.

The finalists are still out there and they still needed support. I don’t want to cast favorites, but I voted for some good writers out there exhausting their voice. Even though voting has ended, check out the work listed on Black Weblog Awards and support the hard work of those striving toward a goal.

Special thanks to those that nominated my blog, and paid the entrance fee. Thank you for getting my foot in the door and more traffic to my doorstep. Thank you for all of my friends and readers who voted for my blog and spread the word. Thank you for continuing to follow and subscribe. Thank you most of all for your patience as I try to figure out what I want to write about, even though my notebook is full of possible posts.

I appreciate the love!

Leave a Reply

